Cairns Underwater Film Festival 2014

Winners of the 8th Annual Cairns Underwater Film Festivalwere announcedat the Cairns Civic Theatre on the 23rd August 2014 with 680 people attending – the extremely successful event was a sellout.

Now in its 8th year, the Cairns Underwater Film Festival is a celebration of underwater photography and filmmaking combining The Great Barrier Reef Photo and Video competition with a film festival showcasing underwater imagery from around the world. Screening a combination of local and international talent, the festival gives filmmakers a chance to display their work in the only Australian event of its kind.

View the winning images from the 2014 Cairns Underwater Film Festival.

A massive prize pool of over $70,000 was on offer this year, including dive expeditions, camera equipment and much more.

Each year The Cairns Underwater Film Festival puts its profits back into the marine environment through local projects and organisations. In 2014 the festival donated 3 giant cheques totalling $25,000 to local marine charities – The Cairns Turtle Rehabilitation Centre, The Minke Whale Project and The Tangaroa Blue Foundation.  PADI was a proud sponsor of the very the popular event.

The highly credentialed judging panel for the underwater photography competition included Stuart Ireland, Christian Miller and lead judge Juergen Freund. Juergen is one of the world’s most highly acclaimed wildlife photographers and winner of many prestigious wildlife and underwater imagery awards.

The Great Barrier Reef Photo and Video competition will open again in May 2015.  For further information, contact: or go to

Cairns U_W Film Festival_sml

In 2014 the Cairns Underwater Film Festival donated 3 giant cheques totalling $25,000 to local marine charities (L to R)  Alastair Birtles – Minke Whale Project; Heidi Taylor (Tangaroa Blue Project); Jennifer Gilbert (Cairns Turtle Rehabilitation Center); together with the team from Cairns Underwater Film Festival, Stuart Ireland, Lisa Buchanan, Mike Ball (President), Tracey Hale, Richard Johnston and Sam Roberts. 

Photo by Christian Miller.

Leave a Reply